July 13, 2008

My first attempt at ATC’s

Posted in Art, Art samples, Artist Trading Cards (ATCs), Beginner's art, Learning art tagged at 11:18 am by amateur-in-art

Once I realized the altered book was just too big – and that I was far too ignorant of even the basic methods and techniques necessary to produce something on that scale that would be meaningful and satisfying to me, I decided I needed to scale back. I’d try making just a single page.

Then I found out about Artist Trading Cards, or ATCs, and that seemed like the perfect way for me to take some baby steps and do some small experiments in methods, techniques and materials. For me, these are “artist training cards”. :-D

Here are my first attempts. They’re modest, but they’re a start. I had fun making these, and I like that they are simple, easy to do, and can be done sometimes in as little as an hour. Some of the details didn’t seem to scan well – (there’s thin white script on the black bars).


Obviously I still have a lot to learn, especially when it comes to scanning and posting. But like anything worth doing, I’ll just have to practice more!

© amateur-in-art 2008

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

