September 7, 2008

Starting a Soul Journal

Posted in Art, Art for beginners, Art samples, Beginner's art, Learning art, Soul Journal, Techniques (art) tagged , at 9:31 pm by amateur-in-art

I discovered Sarah Whitmire’s Soul Journal on her blog, Caspiana, a little while back. I was immediately intrigued. It also seemed like a very “beginner-friendly” endeavor, and so it was easy for me to be enthusiastic, and not intimidated, by it. (But then, I had not yet looked at all of the wonderful art that had been created!)

I also knew this would be a great project for me to work on while recuperating from some health issues. Due to various circumstances, I was not able to begin it when she first launched it. Instead, I have just recently started working on mine, following her instructions and guidance. I knew I was going to have ample time in late Aug. and early Sept. to start, and I knew I would be going through a time of emotional extremes – a perfect time to start!

I began by selecting a book – a cheap velvet-covered “sketchbook” from Borders – and glued together 3 pages at a time to give it some sturdiness. That took a lot of time, but was good “mindless” work until I got ready to start.

I had been looking forward to following Sarah’s project from the moment I found out about it. Because I am posting late, and this will be more of a “retrospective” of my initial work, I’ll break off this post here, and continue in separate posts.

© amateur-in-art, 2008

Leave a Reply

