September 18, 2008

Soul Journal – Days 3 & 4 – Soul Armor!

Posted in Art, Beginner's art, Learning art, Soul Journal tagged , , , , , , at 9:51 pm by amateur-in-art

Nope, you didn’t miss it. I’m not posting Day 2 here, but I am posting Days 3 & 4 – SOUL ARMOR! I loved this assignment! This was so much fun, starting with the decision of “what will my armor (or warrior) look like” all the way through the process.

After some searching, I finally came upon an image of Athena, the Greek warrior goddess of wisdom, which seemed just perfect. I thought the image had enough white space I could work with, and as I read more about her mythology (I was already a little familar) I liked choosing her even more. I liked the details on her shield, the fact that she was wearing a helmet, and the goddess Nike in her hand. I decided to add an owl to my page, because Athena is often accompanied by an owl. She also often is accompanied by a snake, but I just couldn’t get comfortable with a snake as a positive image (though he seems “tame” by her side), so I opted to omit that. And, since I was using this as my own personal symbol, I didn’t feel obliged to try to incorporate too much of her myth into the work. It was not about “recreating the Athena myth” on the page, but rather, finding a representative for my “Soul Armor.”

I like that she has the three qualities of warrior, goddess, and wisdom, and I knew right away that I wanted to highlight those aspects.

From there, I just started working along, writing in things that I need to feel strong about my creativity, reminders to “follow my gut,” and other qualities that I need to hang on to to follow my creative muse, whether it be in the pages of my Soul Journal, or in my writing endeavors.

Here’s a detail of some of the things in the middle. Parts are still difficult to see, even zoomed in. The writing on her torso reads (from left to right, beginning on her arm): Strength, sweat, follow your gut, and below that, on her belly, is: birth of great ideas. You can’t see it in the detail view, but on her head by her helmet, I also have inspiration, and protect those great ideas. I believe creativity takes both head and heart (or “gut feeling”) so for me, this still works. I have that dualism also in the pillar in this detail, consisting of both creativity and logic.

After working on this for a couple of days, although I liked what I had done very much, I also thought that perhaps I needed the “enemies” that she was fighting – things like procrastination, indifference, and the very voices of criticism that our “Soul Armor” is designed to protect us from. So I created a tissue paper overlay.

I used the stamps of a timepiece and compass without numerals or direction, and wrote the voices of my critic and other things that try to undermine my creative efforts.

Here’s what it looks like on top. Ick! right? I decided this just wouldn’t work – and hey, who needs those negative voices anyway? So even though I liked the concept, I really didn’t like how it turned out, so off it went!

Here’s the completed Soul Armor piece:

I made a few minor changes, like adding a larger map section just above her shield, adding a few more words, and highlighting a few more things.

“Lessons learned?” Well, I don’t like how much of the previous background still shows through. I wish I would have done more, in some manner, with the background – painted, colored, papered, done something. I also learned that rubber stamps don’t work so well on gesso’d and glued-down paper scraps. Next time, I’ll stamp on paper then glue that down, if I’m working on this kind of a surface.

But to return to the positive: I like how this project evolved for me, and took me in many different directions. I do feel strong now, after doing this, and I do feel confident – and hey – this is a biggie – I actually like what I’ve produced here! Hooray!

And I have to give credit where credit is due – and I even put it on my page.

Thanks, Sarah!

Thanks, Sarah!

The little white doggy in the corner, with the word “encourage” is for Sarah – her two cute white puppy dogs put in their appearance regularly at her blog, Caspiana – and I’m grateful for the encouragement she’s given to me through this project, and specifically, the Soul Armor exercise. Thanks, Sarah! 🙂

© amateur-in-art, 2008

Leave a Reply

