September 21, 2008

Meditation on Pink

Posted in Beginner's art, Learning art tagged , , , , , , , , at 8:42 pm by amateur-in-art

I’ve recently found myself gravitating towards pink in my color schemes. Often hot pink, fuchsia, or a softer baby pink.

This surprises me because for as long as I can remember – certainly since I was a little girl, I’ve always hated pink! Pink was a prison. I rejected it outright because I found it babying, wimpy, crying and weak. And, I’ve come to realize over the past few years, that was precisely the messages I was receiving as a young girl, about what it meant to be a woman. We were “Other.” We were to be pitied. We were weak. Who, I ask you, in their right mind, wants to be weak?! Not me! And no one I know, male or female. So, it’s no surprise that I rejected the color pink, outright, right from the start.

What I have come to realize, however, and I have seen this more as it arises in my “art” – is that pink is in fact a color of strength. Oh sure, it’s taken me a while – like half my life – to figure this out. I’m a slow learner, it seems. Though it was easy for me to reject, it has been harder, and slower, for me to transform the way I view this color. It is powerful femininity – not bashful, fearfully paralyzed girlishness.

I wonder if in some way perhaps this is related to what I’ve seen as the “reinvention” of pink in young girls clothing and toys. Nowadays, pink is often accompanied by gray, brown, purple or black. These accompanying colors give pink a strength and a solidity it often does not have on its own, especially if it is of the “baby pink” variety. Still, I find myself entranced even by baby pink alone at times. It allows me to be vulnerable, soft, and even more “fully human.” It is the color of nostalgia, of Victorian wallpaper, of grandma’s lace.

Fuchsia or hot pink, however, bring their own strengths. Although they also work well with the other colors mentioned above, they don’t need an accompaniment to be strong. In fact, when paired with one of these other trendy colors, the vibrant colors of fuchsia or hot pink often overwhelm the other color, which perhaps, is as it should be. “Nobody messes with me,” says fuchsia. “I’m not gonna be quiet for no one!” echoes hot pink. Rock on! Colors with an attitude!

I like my newfound enthusiasm for this color, in all of its varieties, and I think it will be fun to see where it takes me!

© amateur-in-art, 2008

1 Comment »

  1. Hulia said,

    The pink color is very attractive color and its peace creating color. They are elegant and they peace our mind, it relates to the babies.

    ______________
    Hulia

    Sreevysh Corp


Leave a Reply

