September 26, 2008

Soul Journal – Day 6

Posted in Art samples, Beginner's art, Soul Journal tagged at 10:19 pm by amateur-in-art

I didn’t have nearly as much fun with this one as I did with the previous assignment, but it was OK.

I liked the scavenger hunt for images, and I really liked that Sarah gave us specific things to search for. She provided a long list, instead of just something generic like: “find 20 images from magazines.”  I think by the time I found everything, even though I let it set overnight, I had kind of lost interest by the time it came to laying out and creating the page.

I don’t like the color of my background. My paint said “Navy Blue” but it went sooo purple. I also learned gee, I sure don’t know how to make a decent wash of paint. I’ve been adding water to paint – but I think I need to go the other way around and add paint to water so it is not as strong and opaque. (I tried this later and it turned out much better).  I could have started over on this page, covering w/gesso and starting fresh, but I just didn’t feel up to it.

That’s it for today. Onward!

© amateur-in-art, 2008

Leave a Reply

