September 27, 2008

Mistakes Welcome

Posted in Art, Art for beginners, Beginner's art, Learning art, Soul Journal tagged , , , at 11:37 am by amateur-in-art

I like that one of the things I’m learning through this Soul Journal work and my other (feeble) efforts at “art” is that I’m learning to go easy on myself. I’m learning to expect mistakes – and that that’s OK. I’ve been accused at times (in other matters) of being a perfectionist – so allowing myself to make mistakes, and to shrug and move on, is kind of a big deal for me.

This work with the Soul Journal has especially helped me in that regard. I’m having the attitude of “however it turns out is fine,” and mostly, I think I’ve been able to do that.

I know that I have Grand Visions of things in my head, beautiful artwork like all the many that are out there, and my own work never measures up (yet) to what I see in my head. I’m (mostly) allowing myself to be OK with that. Sure, sometimes I get frustrated, but it feels good to be able to put things in perspective and to realize that it is really not that big a deal whether my blue turned purple or if something is a little off-kilter or whatever. If it’s true that “you learn from your mistakes,” then I must be getting a very good education! 😀

Part of what I’m learning through the Soul Journal is to be gentle with myself. That, my friends, is a gift, and one that I am grateful for.

© amateur-in-art, 2008

2 Comments »

  1. Marci said,

    Amen to the mistakes. How fun would it be if we did everything perfect the first time – no fun at all. The joy is in the learning. Glad you are one of my “soul journal” sisters and walking down the path with me. Hugs.

  2. Thanks for the encouraging words!


Leave a Reply

