October 3, 2008

Soul Journal – Day 8

Posted in Art, Art for beginners, Art journals, Art samples, Beginner's art, Learning art, Soul Journal, Techniques (art) at 7:20 pm by amateur-in-art

Now on to Day 8. We’re still working on the taped page from yesterday. This time, adding paint.

Following Sarah’s lead, I used white gesso on the left and gray gesso on the right. (Then wiped off – each painting step is followed by immediately wiping off the paint, while it is still fresh and wet.) For some reason, I don’t know why, I started on the right side and then did the left side.

I used a green paint on top of the gray gesso. (Haven’t wiped off the paint yet.)

Here’s what it looks like after I’ve wiped off the paint.

I left some text peeking through, like here. I also decided to “puncutate” my page by making these vertical marks. Truth is –  I had stirred a different, darker green with a toothpick – decided it was too dark for what I wanted, but didn’t want it to go to waste. So I simply wiped off my toothpick here. But I like the look of it, almost as if it is a cryptic symbol, or counting, or something.

That’s the page on the right. Next I started on the left. I used white gesso wipe-off as a base, then painted over with burnt sienna and wiped off. It looks extra-red here, but it is more of a “reddish clay” kind of color.

My paint was drying quickly, so even though I wiped it off, it was still sticking in many places.

I decided the color was too bright, so I added a dark brown. This is on the back of my “torn” page and you see that highlighted in the middle at the top.

Again, text peeking through.

Here’s what the two pages look like, together.

I hadn’t worked with metallic paints before, but I decided this might be a good time to try using maybe a thin wash of metallic to kind of bump these up a little bit. I used a color called “champagne” metallic – kind of a brownish gold. Due to the flash on my camera, it looks very silver here, but it gives it a nice somewhat subtle sparkly effect.

I like these two pages. Wonder what Sarah has in store for us next?

© amateur-in-art, 2008

Leave a Reply

