May 22, 2009

Art Map

Posted in Art, Art for beginners, Beginner's art, Collage, Papercrafts tagged , at 10:59 pm by amateur-in-art

I am squeaking in just barely under deadline, so keeping the verbiage to a minimum tonight.

Here’s the map I made as part of Collage Diva’s (a.k.a. True North Arts) map event. I have not had a chance to check out what other people have done, and I’m not sure I’m even completely finished with what I’ve got, myself, but it is pretty much done, so I wanted to post it now.

FullMap

And here are a few details.

DivaCloseup

Kudos to the Collage Diva – and inspiration from inchies at 1000 Squares!

A visual shout out to some of the kindred spirits I’ve found along the journey. (This isn’t everyone on my map, just the ones that are in the “village” here.)

Sorry a little out of focus - will try to take a better pic and replace soon!

Sorry a little out of focus - will try to fix later.

The residents of the Village are: Thrifty Collage Artist, Vintage Moth, Pattern of Life, and Me Scrap!

The extra shiny part right above the word “Explore” is my “Watercolor River.” I laid down thin stripes of paint, then coated it with gel medium to make it look liquid-like.

And finally – every map needs a compass to point to True North, right?

TrueNorthCloseup

Thanks for this great idea, Diva! I’m only sorry I didn’t have more time to work on it, but I’ll keep going on it, and maybe post more or edit this page soon.

Bookmark and Share

© 2009, amateur-in-art

8 Comments »

  1. I think it is fabulous! Great job getting it done in time. Let me know when you’ve added more details to it. I’d love to see the additions. It is fun to see all of the details and some of my blog friends on your map. Thanks for sharing the creative journey.

    {soul hugs}
    Kathryn, Collage Diva

  2. Hello there, Fellow Squeaker…

    I barely posted by the deadline as well. I love all the detail on your map and will be back soon to explore your blog. Enjoy the Journey.

  3. Laura K said,

    This is so creative. I love the shoes!!

  4. Judy said,

    great job! great detail.

  5. Great map and love the commentary!

  6. Mel said,

    Gorgeous map!

  7. LadyNorth said,

    Hello there Ama! (amateur means one who does it for the LOVE of it!)
    You know we are never finished tweaking right?
    I am so glad you made it in time for the Contest – it’s a joy to wander through your part of the Art world.
    Bless you for sharing!
    LadyNorth

  8. Dianne said,

    great job! love the inchies & the compass!


Leave a Reply

