June 9, 2009

Soul Journal – Day 21 – “Misfit”

Posted in Art, Art journals, Beginner's art, Collage, Soul Journal tagged , , , at 10:51 pm by amateur-in-art

I’ve worked on this page off and on in small flurries over the past couple of months. It’s not that involved, just spent time on other things.

Today’s assignment was to scribble and then play with it like seeing pictures in clouds and see what emerged from the scribble for you. I saw, at first, a Kermit-the-Frog type head, and then it looked like a woman waving a baton, who was wearing some type of a Maid Marian type of headress. She looked “scolding.”

SJ21-ScribbleStart

This made it obvious to me that I had a very unhappy, naggy, music teacher on my hands. I painted her in. I’m not sure why I chose the colors I did. I guess green for the face partly because it looked like Kermit but I think also maybe as a little “envy” or just “monster”.  Purple just seemed to go with the green. Red eyes because she has power and seems evil to her victims.  Then I pasted a page of music on the opposite page, and whited out the lyrics with some gesso.

SJ21-CreatureMusic

Day 21 was about creating a “misfit” character, or to think about a time where we felt like a misfit, when others just didn’t “get” us or our art. My upset music teacher didn’t quite fit that category – but her poor victim could.

I started working on the left hand page by using an Aquarelle watercolor crayon and rubbing it across the music paper and the gessoed background. I used brown and ochre. I wet a sponge and ran it across the page and it really spread around nicely – and I actually realized a little goes a long way with those water color crayons. I don’t need much.   I liked the texture when used dry, so I went over it again later, after it had dried.

Over the few days prior to this, I had been thinking some about spirals – and I truly cannot draw anything at all if I’m trying for “realism” – but I decided I could draw a tuba using a spiral. I think it turned out pretty well, and it looks to me like a pretty hip ‘n’ happenin’  and happy tuba.

SJ21-TubaStart

When thinking of this in context of being paired with the Mean Music Teacher, the phrase, “Tubas Should be Seen and Not Heard” came to me, and I decided that would be my key line on this page. That now made my tuba my “misfit character.”

SJ21-TubaFinish

Then I added all sorts of things that the tuba would be subject to, like “Go play a flute” and “You can’t carry a melody” and so on.

This was a really interesting page to me, because what all the taunts and criticisms amounted to was an attack on the Tuba’s essential nature and purpose. Of course a tuba is big. Of course a tuba is loud. And maybe even of course a tuba won’t be playing a melody. They weren’t made to play a melody. And this particular tuba is pink –  maybe a little unusual for tubas, but it is this particular tuba’s essential identity. I think there may even be some subtle feminism going on here, too. A “woman in a man’s world” as it were.  I *really* like this page, and the more I think about it, the more I get out of it. I mean, really – how ridiculous is it to tell a Tuba, of all things – that it should be seen and not heard? Any self-respecting tuba would say, “Oh yeah? OOOMPAHHHHHH!!!! to you!”

It took me forever to decide what finishing touches to put on the teacher. I knew I wanted to add some sort of commentary about her not being able to recognize talent, or squelching little kid’s dreams, but I never could quite figure out exactly what to have her say.  So finally, I just “did it”.

SJ21-TeacherFinish

“Mrs. McGillicudy was blind to talent in unexpected places (it scared her).”

SJ21-BothPages

I really like the way this all turned out, and I think it was a fabulous assignment. It really brought up a lot of “issues” I have about creativity, talent, and some of those old voices of criticism that I still sometimes hear or that evil bane of creative types – “practicality”.

(No, I never did have an evil music teacher and I never did play the tuba. But I like having this little happy pink Tuba as my alter ego!)

Bookmark and Share

© amateur-in-art, 2009

3 Comments »

  1. Sarah said,

    Wow. You totally “got” this prompt and did some fabulous work with it. Thanks so much for sharing your art and your process. Bravo! 😀

    *SOUL HUGS*

    Sarah

  2. Wow, thanks, Sarah! I really appreciate this comment, coming from you – the original Soul Journal Queen! 🙂

  3. Ros said,

    I never got round to this prompt… maybe I should have a go! Looks fantastic!


Leave a Reply

